10 Things To Know About How the church of Christ is Organized

  1. Christ Jesus is the head of the church (Ephesians 1:22-23, Colossians 1:18, Ephesians 5:24)
  2. A congregation consists of Elders, Deacons, and Saints (Philippians 1:1)
  3. A Saint is simply a Christian (Philippians 1:1, Romans 1:7)
  4. Each individual congregation is overseen by plural Elders (Acts 20:17, 28, 1st Timothy 3:1-7)
  5. Under the Shepherds, Pastors, Elders, and Bishops (Different words used of congregation leaders) the church is to have servants called Deacons (1st Timothy 3:8-13)
  6. Saints and deacons are led by the elders (Acts 2:28, 1 Peter 5:1-2)
  7. Elders only lead the members that are among them (Acts 20:28, 1st Peter 5:1-2)
  8. Elders cannot legislate new doctrine. They must follow the Bible (Matthew 28:18, 2nd Timothy 3:16)
  9. Each congregation is called “church of Christ” (Romans 16:16)
  10. Pastors, Elders, Bishops, Shepherds are words for the same individual, a leader in the local congregation. A Preacher or Evangelist is not necessarily someone who is a Pastor. 

Contact Us

Matthews St. church of Christ

Garland Van Dyke

Call us at: 979.245.8782 or 979.318.2463

Email ID: garland.churchofchrist@gmail.com

PO Box 1522

1915 Matthews St.

Bay City, TX 77414

Follow us On Facebook

Sign Up For Our Weekly Devotional

© copyright 2021. Matthews Street church of Christ

Designed By Kelly Systems